photo annette NAWIC flyer

Women are making huge strides in New Zealand’s construction sector with the 37 finalists in the second annual Hays NAWIC Excellence Awards reflecting the increasingly significant contribution being made by women across the industry.

The awards, which will be held at Mac’s Function Centre in Wellington on 14th September, aim to celebrate the achievements of women in construction as well as honouring those organisations which are redressing the industry’s gender imbalance.

NAWIC president Donna Howell says the finalists are changing the face of the construction industry while highlighting the huge variety of successful career paths available to women across the sector.

“It was incredibly difficult to select the finalists from such a high standard of entries. This is a reflection on the increasing numbers of highly talented women who are making their mark on the construction industry.

“The finalists are a truly inspiring group of women who are committed to excellence while giving back to the wider community. They are blazing a trail for other women to follow them into this vibrant and exciting industry.”

New Zealand’s building boom has seen more women than ever before taking up tools and joining the construction industry. The number of women in the construction sector has doubled to 17 per cent over the last 15 years and is continuing to grow with women now making up 12 per cent of trades apprentices.

The awards have six categories which cover a wide range of roles across the industry. The finalists in each category are:

The Helen Tippett Award – Gabby Bush (CPB Contractors), Deidre Johns (EchoChill), Toni Lea (Fletcher Building), Megan Rule (South Pacific Architecture), and Alex Cutler (New Zealand Green Building Council)

Tradeswoman of the Year – Sharlene Rowe (Stevenson Construction Materials), Mi’easha Sutton (Venture Developments Ltd), and Carmen Saunders (McIntosh Builders Ltd)

Professional Woman of the Year – Rula Alatia (Jasmax), Kerry Griffiths (AECOM), Cherie Leckner (Fulton Hogan), Lynne Makepeace (Fletcher Construction), Sarah McDonald (Fletcher Construction), Ellie Porteous (G J Gardner Homes), Karen Sanderson (Beca), Hannah Schofield (Hawkins Group), Leah Singer (Entwine Group), Antonia Speight (Acuite), Flavia Wolf (Fletcher Construction) and Bonnie Yee (Hawkins Group)

Outstanding Achievement in Design – Sarah Bryant (Jasmax), Vanessa Carswell (Warren and Mahoney Architects), Gemma Collins (Fletcher Construction) and Irina Holleran (Fulton Hogan)

Excellence in Construction Administration – Aimee Chikunda (Jennian Homes), Karin Cunningham (Plumbing World), Carolyn Pitman (Fletcher Construction), Susy Pride (Johnstone Construction), Dorothy Walker (BCITO), Jane Taylor (SCIRT- City Care)

Student/Apprentice Excellence Award – Philippa Barr (Victoria University of Wellington), Georgia Bartley (Victoria University of Wellington), Vanessa Coxhead (Victoria University of Wellington), Lydia Stewart (Aaron Stewart Builders), Natalie Thornton (City Decorators), Anna Fenton (Fletcher Construction) and Tabitha Ward (Wilsons Carpet Court)

Visit the NAWIC website for further information –

Leave a Reply